Sensitivity Reading Services

I am available for Sensitivity Reads for authors working on manuscripts with LGBTQIA+ characters, with a speciality in analyzing books with trans and nonbinary representation. Here are the basics about sensitivity reading and what it entails. Please read that before continuing!

Who I Am:

My name’s Vee! I am 19 years old, bisexual, nonbinary, and trans. I am the admin of GayYA.Org, a website dedicated to promoting and discussing LGBTQIA+ representation in Young Adult literature. I’ve spent the past four years reading and analyzing narratives in LGBTQIA+ YA fiction. In particular, I have published several pieces analyzing the representation of transgender characters. You can find samples of my work here and here.

 

How much does this cost?

That depends on the service!

Manuscript (60,000-100,000 words): $350 will get a writer a high level read focusing on narrative, as well as a notes page detailing what is working and what problems I saw, and specific problems highlighted within the text. This is NOT a structural edit, and the critique is focused on representation only.

Short stories: Between $10-$75, depending on the length

Synopsis critique: $50. Since one of my strengths is narrative analysis, I can often identify potential large problematic tropes from a thorough synopsis.

Cover copy critique: $30. Figuring out the wording of a summary can be hard, especially for books with trans and bi characters. I can read and give specific critique on whether the summary contains trans or biphobic language. (Note: this is NOT a general edit. I only critique language that is specific to the identities represented in the book.)

If you have another service in mind, please email me! I’m happy to consider other possibilities.

If these prices do not work for you, I sometimes consider price reductions or exchange of services. Email me with information about your project and circumstances and we may be able to work something out.

Turnaround time:

My life is very hectic right now, so my current estimated turnaround time is two months. If you need a quicker turnaround, please feel free to email, and we can discuss.

Final note:

Please do not include me in your acknowledgements without my consent! I’m happy and honored to be asked, but there are times when I’m comfortable with it and times when I’m not, and I prefer to be asked beforehand. 🙂

How to get in touch:

Email me at rausiroo@gmail.com. Please include a brief description of your novel/short story, where you are at in the publication process, what kind of service you are looking for, if you or your publisher are able to pay full price, or if you’d like me to consider special circumstances.

Thanks for stopping by! If you have any other questions, feel free to shoot me an email.

 

 

Leave a Reply

